Dec 182012

The thirds were beaten 35-12 by Thomand in the final of the McInerney Cup on Saturday in Annocothy. Bruff went in as underdogs facing a Thomand team yet to be beaten this season in 9 outings.

Four first half penalties by Mark O’Connell kept Bruff in touch and they trailed by just three points, 15-12, at the break. A Glen O’Callaghan try for Thomond set the pattern of the game with further tries credited to Anthony Hartery, Christian Meehan, Pat Deedigan and a terrific try at the death from former Bruff player Jonathon Forde ensuring that Thomand came out victorious.


This was Bruff’s forth final in a row having won the competition on the previous two attempts. Only 5 of last year’s panel started the game this weekend. From lasts years team 4 have retired, 7 have moved on to the senior squad, 2 have emigrated and 3 were out injured.



  1. Tony Clancy 2 Kevin O Carroll 3 Steve O Shea 4 Kevin o Sullivan 5 Paudie O Hara 6 Shane Burke 7 Mike Cooke 8 Barry Laffan 9 Pat Ahern 10 Mark O Connell 11 Noel McNamara 12 Eoin Quinn 13 Pat Dempsey 14 John Mitchell 15 Johnnie McCarthy 16 Sean Donegan 17 Declan O Shea 18 Martin Hennessy 19 John O Sullivan 20 Ian O Brien 21 James McManus 22 TJ Coffey 23 Andrew Dillon



[suffusion-the-author display='description']
 Posted by

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: