Irish Rugby | 19/20 Domestic Season To Conclude immediately.

 1st XV, Ail 2019/20, Club, News, U20  Comments Off on Irish Rugby | 19/20 Domestic Season To Conclude immediately.
Mar 192020

Irish Rugby’s 2019/20 domestic season is to conclude with immediate effect due to ongoing concerns over coronavirus.

Government action in combatting the virus looks set to continue beyond March 29th. Irish Rugby wants to play its part while giving clubs the chance to put plans in place for the 2020/21 season.

The directive applies to all incomplete national and provincial competitions. It was ratified by the IRFU Rugby Committee on Thursday March 19th 2020.

Cups will be shared by finalists, where cup competitions have reached the final fixture.

There will be no promotion or relegation in any of the five divisions of the Energia Men’s All-Ireland League.

The planned expansion of the Energia Women’s All-Ireland League for the 2020/21 season remains in place.

There will be no league or cup winners in any competition organised at a national level including the Energia All-Ireland Leagues, Energia Women’s All-Ireland Cup and the Energia Bateman Cup.

The Fraser McMullen U20 Cup, the Junior Interprovincial Championships and the round-robin qualifiers for the Energia All-Ireland League will not take place.

Speaking about the announcement, IRFU Director of Rugby Development Colin McEntee said:

“The decision to end the domestic rugby season for 2019/2020 season has not been made lightly. All options were discussed and the IRFU is satisfied it has arrived at the only equitable solution.

These are challenging times for us all and we know clubs will be impacted by this directive, but we will look back at this season as one where we put the physical welfare of our rugby community above all else.

Clubs are now in a position to make plans for the 2020/21 season. We look forward to marking the 30th anniversary of the All-Ireland League.”


 Adult Rugby, Club, News, U20  Comments Off on U-20s
Mar 192019
Our 20s looking splendid in there new gear before the crescent game last Friday night

The club wish to thank Conway Engineering, Garry o Malley Windows, and AB Grounworks on their sponsorship.

 Posted by

U-20 v old crescent

 Adult Rugby, Club, U20  Comments Off on U-20 v old crescent
Mar 192019

Our 20s took on old crescent in the last group league match in kilballyowen on Friday night last, conditions weren’t best for running rugby but it didn’t stop lots of try’s being scored 4 of them going to bruff through Michael o Donovan dean o Shea Cian Clifford and John Bulfin and with 1 convert saw us take a half time lead of 22-13. The second half managed only a single old crescent try in which saw some excellent defending from our lads, and the game finished on final score of 22-18, this now takes us in to the Donal Walsh u20 plate final v ul bohs

Team. James Hanley Michael o Donovan Conor Barrett Donnacha McCarthy Liam Cunningham Danny Gleeson Paul Treacy Dylan o Leary Tadgh Cian Clifford Jamie Carey Dean o Shea John Bulfin Shay Dunworth Callum Winship Michael o Grady Stephen Dunworth Darragh o Connell Dave Barrett John Sheehan Martin Carew Craig Ryan.

 Posted by

U-20 fixture

 Adult Rugby, Club, News, U20  Comments Off on U-20 fixture
Mar 152019

Our Under 20s take on old crescent rfc this evening in kilballyowen kick off is 8.00 pm, get yerself over and give the lads yere support.

 Posted by


 Adult Rugby, News, U20  Comments Off on U-20s
Jan 142019

Our 20s played UL bohs on Saturday last in the 4th round of the Donal Walsh plate,  Bruff got off the a good start and were 7-0 to the good after 10 with a try from Mike o Grady UL responded with a converted try and went ahead 12-7  at the break.  Second half saw us come back into the game and levelled the the game with an unconverted try. We took the lead with a penalty early in the second half but UL got a 7 pointer to go 19-15 ahead.  UL added 2 further try’s to end up winning 33-15 probably a bit hard on the lads effort.

Team  Cian Clifford Dean o Shea Callum Winship Michael o Grady Jason Fitzgibbon Tadgh Leddin Martin Carew James Hanley Michael o Donovan Bradley Riordan Donnacha McCarthy Daniel Gleeson Stephen Donworth Paul Treacy Dylan o Leary, John Sheehan David Barrett Conor Barrett Liam Cunningham Darragh o Connell

 Posted by