Sep 152015
Hooker John Hogan who scored a try for Bruff in Dundalk

UBL Opening Day victory for Seniors

The UBL kicked off on Saturday with the 1st XV making the trip to Dundalk for their opening game. Bruff travelled knowing a good performance was a must if they were to come away with the points. Dundalk had been impressive last season getting promoted from the junior ranks in Leinster and giving a number of impressive displays in last season’s round robin to gain promotion.

Bruff started well and put 3 points on the board after 12 minutes when Dundalk were penalised for a No Arms tackle which resulted in a sin binning for the Co Louth side. Bruff took full advantage and scored the game’s opening try with Dundalk down to 14 men. Full back Brendan Deady was on hand to touch down at the end of a good move which started in the Bruff half. Tony Cahill converted to make it 10-0. Dundalk brought it back to 10-6 before Deady’s second try for Bruff made it 15-6 to the visitors with just 7 minutes remaining in the opening half. With the half nearly up Bruff looked comfortable until 2 Bruff yellow cards turned the game on its head. Dundalk capitalised of Bruff ill-discipline scoring 10 points before the break to make is 16-15 at half time.

Bruff circled the wagons at half time and came out fighting in the 2nd half. With the 2 men still in the bin Bruff Hooker John Hogan burst over the line from short range to add Bruffs 3rd try after 5 minutes which was converted by Tony Cahill. Bruff were now chasing the bonus point and with the game opening up Tom O Callaghan struck for the 4th try which was a combination of solid work for the forwards and good handling by the backs. Cahill again converted and also added 2 more penalties before the end of the 80 mins to make it 35-16 to Bruff at the final whistle

Team 1 Dave Horan 2 John Hogan 3 Brendan Keogh 4 Mike Cooke 5 Ger O Connell 6 Danny Keogh 7 Mike Carroll 8 Paddy Clery 9 Tony Cahill 10 Dave O Grady 11 Paudie Kilcoyne 12 Sean Darcy 13 Tom O Callaghan 14 Mark Cosgrove 15 Brenan Deady 16 Cillian Rea 17 Stephen Foster 18 Neilus Keogh 19 Graham Whelan 20 Liam Treacy

Next up for the seniors is a home game with Tullamore on Saturday evening. KO is 7.30pm  and a large crowd is expected so please arrive early .

 Posted by at 11:40 am
Sep 122015

The senior team faces Dundalk today in the first game of the 2015/16 Ulster Bank League. They line out as follows 1.Davy Horan 2.Johnny Hogan 3.Brendan Keogh 4.Mike Cooke 5.Ger O’Connell 6.Danny Keogh 7.Mikey Carroll 8.Paddy Clery 9.Tony Cahill 10.Davy O’Grady 11.Mark Cosgrove 12.Sean D’Arcy 13.Tom Callaghan 14.Paidi Kilcoyne 15.Brendan Deady. Subs: Stephen Foster, Neilus Keogh, Cillian Rea, Graham Whelan, Liam Treacy, Eric Finn.

Aug 312015

The u20’s are in action this Tuesday (Aug 1st) Vr Newcastle West / Estuary in the North Munster League

The game Ko’s at 7pm in the Killeline grounds in Newcastle, all support would be appreciates

 Posted by at 12:16 pm
Aug 222015
New Club Captain Andrew White seen here wearing No 7

Season 15/16 kicks off on Monday night when the 1st XV meet UL Bohemians in the Limerick Charity Cup.The seniors have been busy for the last 6 weeks or so, starting pre-season in early July.

Bruff have a new head coach this year with Tony Trehy coming in to take over from Brendan Deady and Brian Cahill who are focusing on playing.

Tony is no stranger to Bruff having played for a number of seasons in the mid 00’s before leaving to concentrate on coaching. Indeed it has been a fruitful number of years for Tony who has played a big part in the success of Crescent Comp in recent times. Tony also has experience at inter-pro level where he was involved with a number of Munster representative teams.

Upfront Mikey Carroll stays on to look after the forwards with John Finn going into his 2nd year as Manager.

Andrew White takes up the roll of Club Capitan with Tony Cahill supporting him as Vice Captain.

Monday nights game kicks off at 7pm in Annocothy and all support would be welcome

Munster Clubs Start for Odhran

aaa Ordhan

Bruffs U18 Captain Odhran Ring got his first start for the Munster Clubs playing at no.8 in Munsters 11-3 victory over the exiles last weekend. We’d like to wish him the best of luck over the next few weeks as he trys to cement in place for the upcoming inter-pros.



 Posted by at 12:32 pm
Jul 162015

The Bruff RFC Rugby Summer Camp for boys and girls aged between 7 – 12 is taking place from the 3rd to the 7th August.
The Summer Camp is a great way for boys and girls to learn new skills that are taught in a fun way in relation to playing rugby.
The Camp will be run by experienced Munster Branch Affiliated Coaches.

Registration for the camp will take place on Monday 3rd August from 9:45am.
Fee for attending the Camp is €85 for first child. €75 for second and subsequent children.