Mar 102014

The u20 team won the Div 2 league title on Saturday with a convincing 52-3 win away to Midelton . Bruff were level on points with Nenagh going into the last round of games but Nenagh were ahead with a better try’s scored difference. With the last round of games kicking off at the same time Bruff knew that they had to put in a big performance to have any chance of taking the title.

Bruff started strongly and touched down twice within the first 20 minutes with trys from Cian Tierney and Gavin Reidy. Both converted By David O Grady. Bruff didn’t ease up and added 2 further try’s before half time, Cian Tierney adding a second and Sean Darcy scoring the score of the game making a break from the Bruff 22 and running the length of the field to touch down under the Midelton posts.

News was coming through from the Nenagh game who were away to Dolphin that they had also secured the bonus point so it was all down to trys scored.

This news looked like it made Bruff more determined and they added 4 more trys after the break. Gavin Reidy added a second. James Guinea came off the bench to score, Niall Mallon and Mike Cooke also touched down to bring the try total to eight on the day, Dave O grady Kicking 6 from 8.

This proved enough to take the title due to a superior try scored difference


1 Chris Casey 2 Ken Browne 3 Eamon Cooke 4 Mike Cooke 5 Mark McKenna 6 Alex McAuliffe 7 Niall Mallon 8 Mike O Riordan 9 John Carew 10 Dave O Grady 11 Gavin Reiday 12 Sean Darcy 13 Cian Tierney 14 Eric Finn 15 Brian O Connell 16 Andy O Connell 17 Jack Kirkby 17 Graham Whelan 19 James Guinea 20 Killian O Riordan




[suffusion-the-author display='description']
 Posted by

  4 Responses to “U20’s League champions”

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: