Jun 182008

Heineken Cup 2008 / 2009 Pools Draw
16 June 2008, 5:13 pm

Taking a breather before the scrum.

Heineken Cup champions Munster will face Sale Sharks, ASM Clermont Auvergne and Montauban in Pool 1 following the Pool draw which took place in Dublin today (Tuesday, 17 June) …
… for the make-up of the Pools for the 14th season of European club rugby’s premier tournament, which kicks-off on the weekend of 10 / 11 / 12 October, 2008.

The draw was conducted using the new merit-based ERC European Ranking system based on the qualified teams’ performances over the past four seasons in the Heineken Cup and knock-out stages of the European Challenge Cup.

The 24 teams who have qualified for the 2008 / 2009 competition were graded into four Tiers of six teams each with each of the six Pools having one team from each of the four Tier levels.

While defending champions and Ranked 1 Munster will have Sale Sharks, ASM Clermont Auvergne and Montauban in their group, No 2 Ranked side and 2008 finalists Toulouse will be up against Bath Rugby, Newport Gwent Dragons and Glasgow Warriors in Pool 5.

POOL 1: Munster, Sale Sharks, ASM Clermont Auvergne, Montauban

POOL 2: London Wasps, Leinster, Castres Olympique, Edinburgh

POOL 3: Leicester Tigers, Perpignan, Ospreys, Benetton Treviso

POOL 4: Stade Français Paris, Llanelli Scarlets, Ulster Rugby, Harlequins

POOL 5: Toulouse, Bath Rugby, Newport Gwent Dragons, Glasgow Warriors

POOL 6: Biarritz Olympique, Gloucester Rugby, Cardiff Blues, Rugby Calvisano


[suffusion-the-author display='description']

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: