Mar 022012
Brendan Deady going for the line in Thomond Park
The Ireland Clubs team will defend their Dalriada Cup in the Ulster Bank Club International against a Scotland Clubs selection at Anglesea Road on Friday, March 9. A 27-man squad, coached by UCC’s Conor Twomey and David Murphy of De La Salle Palmerston, has been named.

Conor Twomeyhas named a strong Ireland clubs squad which features some highly experienced players at this level.Division 1A leaders Clontarf are represented by Killian Lett, Barry O’Mahony and Frank Cogan with the latter two having represented Ireland at this level a number of times. Cogan captained Ireland to a 32-30 win over Scotland last year.

Dolphin’s prolific points scorer Barry Keeshan, who landed three penalties and two conversions in that game, is again included as is half-back partner from that game, Cork Constitution’s Gerry Hurley.

St. Mary’s College who are just behind ‘Tarf on points difference, have Damien Hall, Rob Sweeney and former Ireland Clubs captain Hugh Hogan named in the squad.

A number of players from Division 1B have also made the cut with Brendan Deady (Bruff), John Cleary (Galwegians), Adam Kennedy (Buccaneers), Rodger McBurney (Ballymena), Brian Slater (UCC) and James Thompson (Ballynahinch) all included.

The Ireland Clubs side will also play the England Counties on Friday, March 16 at Preston Grasshoppers RFC.

IRELAND CLUBS Squad (v Scotland Clubs XV, Ulster Bank Club Interantional, Anglesea Road, Old Belvedere RFC, Friday, March 9, kick-off 6.30pm):

Risteard Byrne (UCD)
John Cleary (Galwegians)
Frank Cogan (Clontarf)
Christy Condon (Dolphin)
Simon Crawford (Clontarf)
Brendan Deady (Bruff)
Philip Donnellan (Cork Constitution)
Damian Hall (St. Mary’s College)
Matt Healy (Lansdowne)
Hugh Hogan (St. Mary’s College)
Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution)
Barry Keeshan (Dolphin)
Mike Kelliher (Young Munster)
Adam Kennedy (Buccaneers)
Killian Lett (Clontarf)
Rodger McBurney (Ballymena)
Hugh McGrath (Young Munster)
David Mongan (Old Belvedere)
Liam Og Murphy (Young Munster)
Barry O’Mahony (Clontarf)
Paul Pritchard (Ballymena)
Craig Ronaldson (Lansdowne)
Brian Slater (UCC)
Ger Slattery (Young Munster)
Rob Sweeney (St. Mary’s College)
James Thompson (Balllynahinch)
Fergal Walsh (Shannon)

Related Links –

Dalriada Cup Success For Ireland’s Club Stars


[suffusion-the-author display='description']

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: